What happens if a driver hits your car and does not give you the opportunity to exchange data? Or what happens if you hit a driver while walking down the street like a pedestrian? You could be compensated for your own insurance if you are hit by an uninsured driver or if the driver runs away from the accident.
If you have purchased an insured / uninsured motorist coverage translated as “uninsured/underinsured motorist” (UM / UIM), you can file a claim with your own insurance company. For example, UM / UIM coverages $ 25,000 per person for bodily injury $ 50,000 per accident for bodily injury $ 25,000 per accident for property damage.
UM / UIM Coverage
It is estimated that 9-11% of Georgia drivers never had UM / UIM coverage, or allowed their coverage to fall leaving them without coverage. Georgia law requires insurance companies to make UM / UIM available when you buy your insurance. Unless you have rejected this coverage in writing, you probably have it. Check the “declarations” page of your insurance policy to verify that you actually have this coverage. If you are injured in an accident and plan to file a lawsuit or have questions about your rights, call us at 678-771-6846. For more information on our personal injury and legal services click here
GET YOUR LEGAL QUESTIONS ANSWERED BY EXPERTS!